DEFEXPO 2022 INDIA Ministry of Defence


Record number of 20 Indian Americans win election to the State Houses

A record number of Indian Americans won the election as lawmakers to US state houses. Twenty of them from 13 states won the election as state representatives and senators

Nov 20, 2020

A record number of Indian Americans won the election as lawmakers to US state houses. Twenty of them from 13 states won the election as state representatives and senators. In addition, they are a few current representatives whose terms end in 2022 and 2023. New York would have the highest number with two senators and two representatives, followed by Michigan and Washington with three representatives each. New Jersey,  Connecticut and North Carolina have two each and the remaining states with one each. Among the winners, three are Republicans, the remaining are Democrats.

The winners at the elections are:

Connecticut State Rep. Raghib Allie-Brennan (D), CT 2nd District

Ohio State Rep. Niraj Antani (R) Ohio Senate District 6

Connecticut State Rep. Harry Arora, (R) CT 151st District

North Carolina State Senator Jay Chaudhuri (D), NC State Senate District 15

Jeremy Cooney (D), Rochester, New York, NY State Senate District 56

California State Rep. Ash Kalra (D), CA 27th District

Kentucky State Rep. Nima Kulkarni (D), KY 40th District

Tennessee State Rep. Dr. Sabi Kumar (R), TN 66th District

Michigan State Rep. Padma Kuppa (D),  MI 41st District

Zohran Mamdani (D), NY State Assembly 36th District

New Hampshire State Rep. Latha Mangipudi (D), NH 35th District

NC State Senator Mujtaba A. Mohammed (D), NC State Senate District 38

Ranjeev Puri (D),  Winner of MI House of Representatives 21st District

Jenifer Rajkumar (D),  Winner of NY State Assembly 38th District

Kesha Ram (D), Burlington, Vermont, VT State Senate Chittenden District

Dr. Nikil Saval (D),  Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Winner of PA State Senate 1st District

Arizona State Rep. Dr. Amish Shah (D),  AZ 24th District

Washington State Rep. Vandana Slatter (D),  WA 48th District

Shri Thanedar (D),  MI State House of Representatives 3rd District

Senator Kevin Thomas (D),  NY State Senate District 56

All four sitting Indian Americans -  Dr Ami Bera, Pramila Jayapal, Ro Khanna and Raja Krishnamoorthi — have been re-elected to the US House of Representatives. They are popularly known as the 'Samosa Caucus'. The Indian-American community has emerged as a force to reckon with for the first time in the history of the US presidential election, with both the Democrat and the Republican campaigns initiating several measures to woo the approximately 1.9 million members of the community who were seen to have emerged as a critical voting bloc in the battleground states of Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

GOPIO Chairman, Dr. Thomas Abraham, has emphasized the need for Indian diaspora to come together and help elect more Indian American candidates at future elections. 

“As a broad-based community organization, we at GOPIO want to provide a bipartisan platform to bring all statewide Indian American elected lawmakers and we are hoping that this would motivate more Indian Americans to join the political leadership process especially young Indian Americans,” said Dr. Abraham

Post a Comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Newsletter Subscription

The subscriber's email address.
Stay informed - subscribe to our newsletter.
Tweets about SAMonitor
SAM Facebook